MISSION
To prepare Kansas students for lifelong success through rigorous, quality academic instruction, career training and character development according to each student's gifts and talents.

VISION
Kansas leads the world in the success of each student.

MOTTO
Kansans Can

SUCCESS DEFINED
A successful Kansas high school graduate has the

  • Academic preparation,
  • Cognitive preparation,
  • Technical skills,
  • Employability skills and
  • Civic engagement

to be successful in postsecondary education, in  the attainment of an industy recognized certification or in the workforce, without the need for remediation.

OUTCOMES

  • Social-emotional growth measured locally
  • Kindergarten readiness
  • Individual Plan of Study focused on career interest
  • High School graduation
  • Postsecondary success

 

900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212
(785) 296-3203
www.ksde.org

KANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

CHAIRMAN
DISTRICT 8
Kathy Busch - District 8, Board Chairman
Kathy Busch
kbusch@ksde.org

VICE CHAIR
DISTRICT 1
Janet Waugh - District 1, Board Vice Chairman
Janet Waugh
jwaugh@ksde.org



Map of Kansas School Districts

BOARD MEMBERS

DISTRICT 2
Steve Roberts - District 2
Steve Roberts
sroberts@ksde.org

DISTRICT 3
Michelle Dombrosky - District 3
Michelle Dombrosky
mdombrosky@ksde.org

DISTRICT 4
Ann E. Mah - District 4
Ann E. Mah
amah@ksde.org

DISTRICT 5
Jean Clifford - District 5
Jean Clifford
jclifford@ksde.org

LEGISLATIVE LIAISON
DISTRICT 6
Dr. Deena Horst - District 6
Dr. Deena Horst
dhorst@ksde.org


DISTRICT 7
Ben Jones - District 7
Ben Jones
bjones@ksde.org

LEGISLATIVE LIAISON
DISTRICT 9
Jim Porter - District 9, Legislative Liaison
Jim Porter
jporter@ksde.org


DISTRICT 10
Jim McNiece - District 10
Jim McNiece
jmcniece@ksde.org

Kansans Can - Kansas leads the world in the success of each student

 

 

KANSAS STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

COMMISSIONER OF
EDUCATION

Commissioner of Education - Dr. Randy Watson
Dr. Randy Watson

DEPUTY COMMISSIONER
Division of Fiscal and
Administrative Services

Deputy Commissioner, Division of Fiscal and Administrative Services Dale M. Dennis
Dale M. Dennis

DEPUTY COMMISSIONER
Division of Learning Services

Deputy Commissioner, Division Learning Services - Dr. Brad Neuenswander
Dr. Brad Neuenswander

The Kansas State Board of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability or age in its programs and activities and provides equal access to any group officially affiliated with the Boy Scouts of America and other designated youth groups. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies: KSDE General Counsel, Office of General Counsel, KSDE, Landon State Office Building, 900 S.W. Jackson, Suite 102, Topeka, KS 66612, (785) 296-3201.